Configuring an approval process

First, create a form that should be used for the approval process. Then in the form settings, Workflow tab, define the following settings:

1. Give the step a Name to uniquely identify it in the list of steps.

2. Select 'Approval' from the Step setting.

3. Assign the user who should approve the entry in the Select Assignees setting. Click on the user to move it to the list of approvers.

4. Configure the emails for this step. The assignee email will be sent as soon as the step starts to advise the assignee that there's a pending task waiting in the inbox. The Rejection email will be sent in the case of rejection and the Approval Email will be sent if the entry is approved.

5. Finally define the next step in the workflow. In the case of rejection the default setting is to stop the workflow. In the case of approval the default setting is 'next step in list'. If there are no more steps in the list then the workflow will be considered complete.

The complete step configuration should look something like this. In your case, you will have different user accounts.

Selecting Display Fields

By default all fields will be displayed but the "Display Fields" setting allows you to specify which fields should be displayed.

Sending Assignee Reminder Emails

The assignee email has a "Send Reminder" setting.

When activated the assignee email will be sent once more after the specified number of days. Once sent the reminder email will not be sent again.

Scheduling Steps

All steps can be scheduled to begin after a specific delay or on a specific date. The entry will be 'queued' until it's time to start the step.

Step Expiration

Approval steps can be scheduled for expiration. Once a step expires the entry will be sent to the step configured in the Next step setting(s). The Expiration settings in the Approval Step allow for the status to be specified once the step has expired.

The Revert Button

The Approval Step has a Revert setting which will activate a third option in addition to Approve and Reject. The Revert button allows the assignee to send the entry directly to a User Input step without changing the status. Enable this setting to show the Revert button next to the Approve and Reject buttons and specify the User Input step the entry will be sent to.

The Revert setting will only appear if the workflow has at least one User Input step.

Once enabled the Revert button will appear on the workflow detail page next to the Approve and Reject buttons.

Still need help? Contact Support Contact Support